Safety Glass Marking 



in ,

The Building Regulations require that safety glass must be used in critical locations to protect people from injury. These Critical Locations are considered to be glazing areas in doors, glazing areas adjacent to doors, and low level glazing areas that is wholly or partially within 800mm from floor level.

There are different types of safety glass used in buildings:

  • Toughened glass (comply with BS EN 12150)
  • Laminated glass (comply with BS EN 14449), 
  • Heat soaked thermally toughened glass (comply with BS EN 14179)

Marking of safety glass

According to BS 6262-4, all safety glass must have a marking showing that the glass complies to safety requirements of BS EN 12600.

The marking should include the followings: 

  1. The manufacturer’s name or trademark,
  2. Reference to the relevant product standard,
  3. Impact performance classification according to BS EN 12600.

What is meant by ‘reference the relevant product standard’ is to include one of the following standards that safety glass can comply with:

  • BS EN 12150: to identify toughened glass for use in buildings
  • BS EN 14449: to identify laminated glass for use in buildings
  • BS EN 14179: to identify heat soaked, thermally toughened glass for use in buildings
  • BS EN 1863: to identify heat strengthened, soda lime silicate glassfor use in buildings

BS EN 12600 has three performance grades:

  • Class 1, (highest)
  • Class 2,
  • Class 3 (Lowest).

BS EN 12600 also grades the Mode of Breakage:

  • Type A – numerous cracks appear forming separate fragments with sharp edges, some of which are large (typical of annealed glass)
  • Type B – numerous cracks appear, but the fragments hold together and do not separate  (typical of laminated glass)
  • Type C – disintegration occurs, leading to a large number of small particles that are relatively harm less (typical of toughened glass).

 Markings can be applied by laser, sandblasted or screen-printed.

The position of marking on the glass  

The markings remain visible in the finished installation to prove Standard EN12600 compliance.

Further information


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *