Security Standards for Windows and Doors



in ,

Security is an important consideration when buying windows or doors for your home. The level of security provided by a window or door will depend upon the design, quality of manufacture, the hardware specified and the type of glazing used.

There are various national and European standards for burglary prevention. Among other things, they regulate requirements, test methods and classification for the determination the level of resistance. The standard defines resistance classes, resistance times (the time a product can withstand a burglary), offender types.

PAS 24

Product Assessment Specification (PAS 24), published by the BSI, is a standard used to assess the enhanced security performance of external windows and doors against the effects of an opportunistic burglar. It involves a set of tests which simulate attacks most often associated with opportunistic burglary. 

PAS 24 is a ‘minimum standard’ and doesn’t have ‘grades’ or ‘performance’ scores, so windows and doors that are tested to PAS 24 standard either pass or fail. 

PAS 24 applies to any windows and doors with the following methods of opening:

  • Turning
  • Tilting
  • Folding
  • Turn-tilt
  • Top
  • Bottom-hung
  • Sliding
  • Fixed

Approved Document Q specifies PAS 24 as the required test standard for new dwellings. It is intended to make sure that any windows and doors that could provide access into your property should conform to a certain level of security against casual intruders. A new revised version of PAS 24 (PAS 24:2016) was launched in March 2016, so PAS 24:2012 was withdrawn by the BSI (British Standard Institute).

European Standard EN 1627

European Standard EN 1627 is one of a series standards regarding burglar resistance for doorsets, windows, curtain walling, grilles and shutters. The standards in this series are:

  • Resistance to static pressure (EN 1628)
  • Resistance to dynamic pressure (EN 1629)
  • Resistance to manual burglary attempts  (EN 1630)

Various classification and the requirements are described in the European EN 1627 standard. There are a total of six classifications, also called resistance classes. These are classified as followed:

Resistance ClassBurglary TypeUseTest Duration
RC1Basic protection against burglary by the use of physical forcePremises without increased risk of burglary
RC2Occasional burglar uses basic burglary toolsIncreased protection for normal housing security3-15 mins
RC3Experienced burglar additionally uses electric saws and power drilling toolsHigh level of security for the premises in view of increased risk of burglary5-20 mins
RC4Experienced burglar additionally uses  power cutting and heavy duty drilling toolsExtra high level of housing protection in view of high risk of burglary10-30 mins
RC5Experienced burglar additionally uses  power cutting and heavy duty drilling toolsExtremely high protection for military and industrial premises.15-40 mins
RC6Experienced burglar additionally uses  power cutting and heavy duty drilling toolsExtremely high protection for military bunkers, etc20-50 mins


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *